MMRWA Angel Award

The MMRWA Angel Award for Service

MMRWA Angel Award Pin CompressedIn 2001, Mid-Michigan RWA established the Angel Award for Service to recognize a member for his or her exceptional dedication to our chapter and local romance-writing community.  Award candidates may be nominated by other chapter members for outstanding contributions, such as helping or mentoring other writers; serving on the Chapter Board of Directors or chairing/serving on one or more of its committees; serving on the RWA® National Board or committees; or participating in any other activities that serve to promote MMRWA and benefit its members.

The Angel Award ceremony takes place annually in the spring at the MMRWA Retreat From Harsh Reality. The inaugural Angel Award for Service for the year 2001 was presented at the 2002 Retreat.  Each year’s Angel honoree is presented with the MMRWA Angel Pin (at right and a framed certificate.



Inaugural Award Recipient


2001 ANGEL

Founding Member and Mentor to all, President, Treasurer, Retreat Chair, Librarian,

Listserv Moderator and Chair of numerous Committees

“Maris Soule is awarded the very first MMRWA Angel Award for her many years of service to MMRWA as a founding member, multi-year Board member, Retreat Chairperson, writing instructor, as well as for her many years of mentoring other romance writers.”—From the inaugural award presentation by Pam Trombley, 2002 Retreat Chair


Nancy Gideon Simon & Schuster PhotoNANCY GIDEON

2002 ANGEL

Vice-president, Award-Winning Chapter Newsletter Editor, Cover-to-Cover Editor

“From 1996 to 2002, she edited our chapter newsletter.  In 1999, The Mid-Michigan Mirror won first place in RWA’s® Chapter Newsletter Contest in the Mid-sized Chapter Division, earning her the honorary title of “Editor-for-Life.”—From the award presentation by 2001 Angel Maris Soule